How To Plan an Incredible Year & Stick to Your Resolutions Too!

Hey Guys! I’m so excited to have you join me on my mission of fiscal and entrepreneurial success. There’s a ton I have planned for this year and I want you to stay tuned in order to achieve maximum results. Today let’s discuss New Year’s Resolutions.

I read a statistic that stated that 45% of Americans create NY Resolutions, I’m not sure how true that is but I can confirm at least 75% of the people around me tie themselves to new found expectations come January 1st. Though, most of them return to their natural behaviors before Valentine’s Day. I must admit, I too have fallen into that category many times before. But, one year I decided that I wanted to actually stick to my goals and I knew that was impossible without a plan.

So, the question is how do you make a plan that you can stick to, to actually achieve your resolution goals? It’s simple and I’ll tell you how, by just using these three rules.

  1. Be realistic.

    If you want to be successful in this you have to be honest with yourself. Like really honest with yourself. If you make $25,000 and pay reasonable adult bills including rent, car note, insurance, phone bill, etc. please don’t plan to save $20,000 this year. I will explain how to really calculate this later but just be realistic in order to be successful.

  2. Be focused.

    Take some time during this planning to review your behaviors of last year. Where did your free time go? When you got off work, would you lounge around on social media? I’m guilty. Would you watch TV? Pace around doing a lot of nothing? Sit in front of your computer without a goal list and ended up with a lot of unproductive sessions? Whatever the behavior was, get ready to get rid of it, you need that time to focus on your goals.

  3. Be ready to be held accountable.

    If you want to be successful you have to have consequences when you don’t meet your goals. There are a number of ways you can do this: Have an accountability partner, cut your spending budget for 2 weeks if you don’t meet you savings goal for 1 week, set alarms in your phone to align with the deadlines you set, etc.

Setting Your Goals

Let’s first, be realistic. For starters, don’t create a super long resolution list. I like to cap my goals at 5, if I accomplish them all early I can add 5 more in July. Next, you need to be extremely focused on what type of goal it is. This will allow to you plan the amount of energy to exert to each goal accordingly. I like to categorize my goals into one of these five groups; fiscal, physical, mental, spiritual, emotional. I then sub categorize them into either personal goals or business goals.Okay now the last step. What is your plan of action for holding your self accountable for each of these goals? Put your pencil down and think about this, what are things that would deter you from failing yourself the next time.

Example Goals

Here’s a set of example goals for you to get an understanding of how to set your own goals in a manageable way.

Goal Goal Type Sub Group Accountability Smaller Goals
Save $5000 this year Fiscal Personal/Business Cut spending budget when savings goal isn’t met 1. Create a budget to achieve this goal 2. Be more focused on meal planning and other spending cuts
Pray more consistently Spiritual Personal Will ask a friend to be my accountability partner and to check on me at least once a week 1. Add alarms into my Google calendar to remind me, maybe download a prayer app 2. Create more time for fellowship
Put in at least 25 hours a week into SSE Mental Business Will cut eating out from the agenda and focus during lunch 1. Set a strict schedule, stick to it 2. Add written to-do lists into my Pomodoro app to keep me on track
Let go of bad relationships and be open to new ones Emotional Personal/Business Use a journal to track when relationships are moving my spirit in a bad direction 1. Working on Goal 2 will help you achieve this goal easily 2. Be careful of the silent haters
Workout at least twice a week (25 mins each) Physical Personal Cut extra sugar out of my diet for the week when I can’t stick to my routinue 1. Create a schedule and plan what type of workouts will be done 2. Try out the free gym memberships, see if you like them

Stay Focused

Alright, so you set your goals and now here comes the hard part, sticking to them. If you have strong consequences in place to hold you accountable, you’ll succeed. If you feel yourself drifting away from your goals, it’s time to create tougher consequences. This will not be easy. So, get ready to draft and redraft your consequences as well as your smaller goals to achieve success.

I’ve created spreadsheets that align with the example above that will help you create your weekly, monthly and quarterly goals. If you are interested just subscribe to my blog and the templates along with a complete example will be sent via email.

I hope this has Brightened Your Day, stay tuned and stay positive!

One thought on “How To Plan an Incredible Year & Stick to Your Resolutions Too!

Leave a Reply

